402-435-5000

Nebraska Real Estate Investment Solutions, Inc.

Search More

FAQs

FAQs

How old do I have to be to rent an apartment?  


Nebraska State law states that anyone 18 years old and older can sign into a legal agreement.

Do you charge an application fee?  


We do charge an application fee. It is $30 for the first adult and $30 for each additional adult. Application fees apply for co-signers as well. Married couples have to pay separate applications fees, as each person is processed separately. Anyone living in the home 18 years old or older must complete an application for processing.

How long is my application valid?  


A processed application is valid for 6 months.

What does the application process consist of?  


The application process consists of a credit check, landlord reference, income verification, criminal background check, and sex offender check. We require 6 months (within the last 12 months) of positive, variable rental history from an unbiased source. If your most recent/current rental history is an eviction, we will deny your application. We require each tenant has an monthly income of twice the amount of rent. We deny rental applications of sex offenders.

How long does the application process take?  


Most commonly, the application process takes 2 business days. This process could be delayed/take longer if we have trouble reaching landlords, trouble reaching employers, or if your application is incomplete. If we have to contact the applicant for information, the applicant is given 24 hours to submit the requested information. After 24 hours, the property is placed back on the market (if it was on hold) and the application is dead-filed. The application can be reopened within 6 months if the applicant submits the requested information. Applications are processed Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. to 5 p.m.

How do I place a property on hold?  


In order to place a property on hold while we process your application, we require the full rental deposit be paid. The rental deposit is the same amount as one month’s rent on the specific property you are applying for. With a full deposit, we will hold a property for an applicant for up to two weeks.

Do I have to pay the deposit when I submit my application?  


We require submitting a deposit to hold the property when you submit your application. This places that property on hold specific for you. That property is yours as long as your application is approved. Should your application be denied, we will return your deposit to you. Should you choose to back out, you must do so within 48 hours in order to receive a refund of your deposit. We require that the application fee(s) payment be a separate payment from the deposit payment. This allows the quick and easy return of your deposit, if necessary.

What forms of payment do you accept?  


We do not accept cash payments. We accept check or money order payments. We do not accept debit card or credit card payments in the office. We do have an online payment option through PayLease for current tenants. PayLease is a third party company we have partnered with to offer you the convenience of online payments. You can click on the “Pay Online” button to be redirected to their website. You can also set up an auto-pay option through PayLease. We do not have a direct deposit payment option. We require that application fees and deposit payments be two separate payments. Application fees and deposits cannot be paid through PayLease.

How do I use PayLease?  


PayLease is a third party company we have partnered with to offer you the convenience of online payments. You can click on the “Pay Online” button to be redirected to their website. You can manually make your payment monthly or you can also set up an auto-pay option through PayLease. It is the tenant’s responsibility to disable auto-pay and close their PayLease account when they vacate an apartment. We recommend completely closing your PayLease account with your RIS address so that should you ever need a PayLease account in the future, you will not have troubles setting up a new account with the correct rental property.

How do I know if I need a co-signer?  


Once we have processed your application completely, the property manager will assess all the information gathered and come to a conclusion. If the property manager decides a co-signer is needed, we will contact you at that time. We require co-signer application and fee be submitted within 24 hours of being requested.

How long does your maintenance department take to service a maintenance request?  


Please allow our maintenance department at least 48 hours to service your maintenance request. The maintenance department services every request in the order it was received. If maintenance has not serviced your request within one week, please notify your property manager.

What number do I call for an after-hours maintenance emergency?  


Please assess the situation. Is the maintenance request a true emergency or can it wait until the next morning? If it is a true emergency you may reach our after-hours answering service. The answering service can be reached by calling 402-435-5000 and choosing the option for “After Hours Emergency Maintenance”.

What are your business hours?  


The office is open Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. through 5 p.m. Leasing agents are available during this time. We also offer leasing on Saturdays by appointment only.

Where are you located?  


Our address in 6121 S. 58th Street, Suite A in Lincoln, Nebraska. We are located in the Trade Center at 58th Street and Old Cheney intersection.

How do I schedule a leasing appointment?  


You can call our office Monday through Friday from 9 a.m. through 5 p.m. to schedule a viewing. You can also contact our leasing line at 402-417-6958.

Do you allow pets?  


Certain properties accept pets while certain properties do not accept pets. This is noted on each property. The properties that do accept pets may only accept cats, while some properties will accept both cats and dogs. Most properties that allow pets require a one-time, refundable pet deposit for the amount of 25% of one month’s rent. There are a few properties that require non-refundable, monthly pet rent.

What is your pet policy on dogs?  


We do have breed restrictions on dogs. We do not allow pitbulls, rottweilers, chows, german shepards, huskys, wolf-dog hybrids, malamutes, dobermans, presa canario or any mixes with these breeds. We do not allow dogs that resemble any of these breeds. We do not allow any dog listed on the city registered danger dog list. We do require a Breed Verification Letter from a veterinarian on all dogs in addition to a photograph of all dogs. If you need a Breed Verification form, please go to our forms page. Please note this form must be printed on the veterinarian letterhead or be accompanied with a cover letter on veterinarian letterhead.

How do I give Proper Notice to Vacate?  


Per your lease agreement, “Written notice of intent to vacate must be given a full thirty (30) days prior to (or on) the first (1st) of the month before the end of business day (5 p.m.). Termination of tenancy is recognized at the end of the month only.” Any notice received after the first will be recognized for the following month. Even if our office is closed on the first of the month, we accept notices to vacate in writing left in our drop-box located to the north of our building.

What happens if I break my lease?  


Option #1 – Submit written noticce on the first of the month you intend to vacate and pay rent for that final month. Then pay 25% of the total sum of your entire lease. This option must be paid when the notice to vacate is given. This option will “buy out” your lease and you will be free to move without owing future rent for the remainder of your lease agreement.

Option #2 – Submit written notice on the first of the month you intend to vacate and pay rent each month until either your unit is rented or until your lease agreement ends (whichever comes first.) If the unit is rented before the end of the lease term, you will not have to pay any more rent, however, you will be subject to all fees related to the leasing of your apartment including but not limited to: leasing fees and advertising.

Do you accept LHA/Section 8 Housing?  


Some of our properties do accept LHA/Section 8 Housing assistance. It is noted on the property.

What happens if I bounce a payment?  


Should you bounce a payment to RIS, rather it is a payment directly given to RIS or a payment made through PayLease, you will be charged a $35 fee. If you bounce a second payment, you will be put on “cash equivalent” status, meaning you will only be able to pay in the form of money order or cashier’s check. No exceptions will be made on this policy. Once you are placed on “Cash equivalent” status, you cannot be removed from “Cash equivalent” status.

Do you charge late fees?  


 A service fee of $25.00 will be due from Tenant to Landlord for any monthly installment of rent that is not received by Landlord by 5:00 pm the 5th (fifth) day of the month. Sundays and Holidays are no Exception.  An additional service fee of $25.00 will be due for any monthly installment of rent that is not received by 5:00 pm on the 10th (tenth) day of the month. Late charges and Service Fees, Lease violation penalty fees, attorney’s fees and any expenses related to the enforcement of this lease shall be classified as “additional rent” or “added rent”. This additional rent is payable as rent, together with the next monthly rent due. If tenant fails to pay additional rent on time, Owner shall have the same rights against tenant as if it were a failure to pay rent. Owner may elect to apply monies received towards past due added rent, paying the oldest charges first.

How are my payments applied to my account?  


All payments made for rent and any service fees shall first apply to service fees owing, then to previous month’s rent owing, and then to current month’s rent. Acceptance of rent shall not constitute a waiver of any service fees and waiver of a service fee in any period shall not be deemed to be a waiver of the right to collect any service fee in the future.  When applicable, the Tenant shall pay as additional rent.